Rutherford cosponsors Migrant Protection Protocols Act of 2022


U.S. Rep. John Rutherford (FL-04) recently joined Rep. Carlos A. Gimenez (FL-26) in introducing the Migrant Protection Protocols Act, which codifies the Trump Administration’s “Remain in Mexico” policy that kept migrants in Mexico for the duration of the immigration proceedings instead of being let loose in the country while they await to appear in court.

“As a member of the House Appropriations Homeland Security Subcommittee, I am focused on protecting our national security and promoting fair and effective immigration policies,” said Rutherford. “The president’s open border policies are making our communities less safe, and the reinstatement of catch-and-release has allowed hundreds of thousands of migrants to be released all over the United States. The Migrant Protection Protocols Act will reaffirm our commitment to national security and public safety by giving us time to vet migrants before allowing them into our country.”

The Migrant Protection Protocols Act is also cosponsored by Reps. Chris Smith (R-NJ), Kat Cammack (R-FL) and Ted Budd (R-NC).