Rendzio, Smith elected to Betty Griffin Center board


Bryan Rendzio and Yanetta Smith have been elected to the Betty Griffin Center Board of Directors.

Rendzio, an attorney and partner as Ansbacher Law, is an arbitrator and mediator. He previously served as a circuit court judge for the State of Florida on the Seventh Judicial Circuit. A board-certified construction lawyer, Rendzio was previously selected for inclusion in Super Lawyers magazine beginning in 2010 for construction litigation. He received his Juris Doctor degree from the Florida Coastal School of Law in 2001 and received his Bachelor of Arts degree from Florida State University in 1998.

Smith is dean of students at Pedro Menendez High School in St. Augustine, where she has worked for 16 years. A long-time member of the community, Smith graduated from St. Augustine High School and received her undergraduate and graduate degrees from Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University. She is a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. and has mentored for Take Stock in Children for two decades. She is also the inaugural recipient of “Be the Sun not the Salt, Positive Energizer Community Award” sponsored by Bozard Ford and Cox Media Group.

“We are honored to have Bryan and Yanetta join our board,” said Betty Griffin Center CEO Kelly Franklin. “They both are committed to making our community safer for everyone.”

The board also elected new board officers for the 2022-23 terms, including:

  • Jayne G. Evans, a long-time marketing and communications specialist in both the for-profit and nonprofit sectors, was elected as board chair. Evans is currently the executive officer for consulting firm Heart Touch. Evans previously worked locally as marketing director with Wounded Warriors. 
  • Michelle Wilcox, the executive director of Steele Dynamics, which provides virtual and on-site consulting, was elected vice chair of the board.
  • Lori Brandel, the vice president at VyStar’s St. Augustine North Branch, was elected board treasurer.
  • Carolyn Mudgette, the owner of social media and business development agency Easy SociAbility, was elected board secretary.

“Our newly elected board officers for the coming year have the talent and knowledge to strategically guide Betty Griffin Center as our county continues to grow at a rapid pace,” Franklin said.